top of page

Becoming a Postpartum Doula

In 2016, my motherhood journey began as I gave birth to my first son three months early. My fiancé and I were at a wedding reception when I began to feel contractions-and I had no idea they were contractions. We decided to go to the hospital when the pain got worse and learned that I have actually been in labour for four hours already. I remember feeling lost, scared, confused and overwhelmed. Doctors and nurses would approach me with too much information that I didn’t understand and I was beginning to lose control over my birthing experience. 48 exhausting hours later, we welcomed our strong baby boy into the world.

I was then thrilled to find out that I was pregnant with my second son, shortly after bringing my firstborn home. I felt excited yet anxious, for I was still adjusting to learning how to mother a newborn, be a stepmom and preparing our family for a big move to another province where we wouldn’t have any family or friends nearby.

At the time it felt unreal to express myself and share my experience as a woman who suffered from postpartum depression because it simply wasn’t me-But she is a part of me. I was just two months postpartum when I began feeling the symptoms of postpartum depression:

  • Depressed mood or severe mood swings.

  • Excessive crying.

  • Difficulty bonding with your baby.

  • Withdrawing from family and friends.

  • Loss of appetite or eating much more than usual.

  • Inability to sleep (insomnia) or sleeping too much.

  • Overwhelming fatigue or loss of energy.

However, also identifying how sleep deprived I was during that time, I simply dismissed it as a side effect of exhaustion. I even blamed it on the “hormones.” I continued to push forward because that’s what ‘strong moms’ do…..right? Seeking time and support for yourself when preparing for birth and motherhood is often overlooked. I learned that there are different shades of postpartum depression, which is why I think it’s so important for women to talk about it and to get the support they need because it is a trying time. Women need to know that they’re not alone, and that it does heal. There are statistics that shows when a mother is well supported through childbirth and postpartum, her chance of suffering from postpartum depression greatly decreases.

A postpartum doula’s work is truly invaluable during this time. Here are benefits of hiring a postpartum doula:

  • Offer education, support and companionship

  • Assist with newborn care

  • Assist with family/sibling adjustment

  • Meal preparation tips

  • Light household chores

  • Provide evidence-based information on various topics such as infant feeding, emotional and physical recovery, coping skills and infant soothing.

  • Provide community resources if needed

Supporting births is a beautiful and enriching experience. Every family and birth is unique. As a certifying doula, I collaborate with families and thoughtfully design a package that is best suited for their specific needs, while establishing a professional and empowering relationship. Through my time working with each family I strive to provide support that is genuine, patient and researched. My years as an early childhood and development educator laid the foundation on my path to becoming a doula. Having experienced two very different births of my own and various postpartum experiences dealing with postpartum depression and baby blues, and looking back now, I wondered how much my birthing experience would have change if I had the support of a doula as part of my maternity team. I understand the challenges and emotions that can sometimes be associated with giving birth and becoming a new mom. Sometimes the road is a little (or very) different from what you dreamed of. Without the right support, motherhood can feel dark and lonely. This is why I am so passionate about sharing my energy, knowledge, skills and experience with new moms, to make motherhood a happier and healthier journey.

Nikki Nguyen is currently a mom of 2 under 2, step mom, Registered Early Childhood and Development Educator and Certifying Doula and lives in Woodstock, New Brunswick.

bottom of page